Home > Biographical, China > So it begins…

So it begins…

I am now the proud owner of a blog, as you have probably noticed.  As owner of this blog I feel I should explain what I intend to do with this blog.

I want to use this blog to communicate science in a way that is both accurate and approachable.  I also want this blog to share my experiences in school and research and (perhaps) life in general.  Finally, I will also post anything that I find sufficiently interesting to warrant me writing about it.  That said, you should expect things related to life sciences generally, neuroscience, psychology, and biotechnology, as these are fields I find particularly interesting.

In the coming months you can expect to hear much about China and heat shock proteins because I will be in China for 10 weeks this summer on a Research Experience for Undergraduates program sponsored by the National Science Foundation and the University of Michigan researching heat shock proteins with Dr. Zengyi Chang at Peking University.  This program is sending me and about 20 of my peers from universities around the United States to Beijing, China, giving us a place to live, giving us research labs to work in, paying us, and getting us home.

Our departure is about a week away and the excitement is mounting!

Categories: Biographical, China
  1. Warren Houck
    May 30, 2010 at 10:48 AM

    Kevin, your blog reminds me of summer internship I had many years ago and how things have changed.

    I went to the exotic location of Boston. It was my first time on a plane. I flew with People’s Express (long ago bankrupt) and worked at GTE Labs. (Long gone – bought out buy Bell Atlanic which turned into Verizon.)

    The internet, and PCs did not exist. I worked with, which at the time was pretty fancy, a computer (about the size of a small refrigerator) that had this brand new invention – a windows-based screen and this neat new thing called a mouse! The computer was made by Xerox. I guess they decided there was no money in this computer thing and decided to stop making them and stick to copiers.

    The one thing which seems a constant after all these years Euchre. We played it a lot back then. I still play it now, but of course on a PC against virtual players.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

